The Blue-GIFT (Blue Growth and Innovation Fast Tracked) is a coordinated ocean energy technology demonstration programme encouraging longer-term demonstration and technology de-risking across the Atlantic Area regions.

This €2.5 million project is funded by Interreg Atlantic Area.


SEM-REV involvement in Blue-GIFT:

A series of test site access vouchers will be offered to successful applicants to support testing of devices and subsystems at the following test centres:
•    BiMEP (wave and floating wind) in the Basque Country, Spain;
•    PLOCAN (wave and floating wind) in Gran Canaria, Spain;
•    SEENEOH (hydrokinetic and tidal) in Bordeaux, France;
•    WavEC (wave and floating wind test centre) in Aguçadoura, Portugal.

Whilst not eligible for applications within the Blue-GIFT programme, the project consortium also includes three additional ocean energy test facilities who will support the project with technical expertise gained from running the Interreg North-West Europe FORESEA programme:
•    EMEC (wave and tidal) in Orkney, UK (Blue-GIFT lead partner);
•    SmartBay Ireland (wave and floating wind) from Galway, Ireland;
•    Centrale Nantes / SEM-REV (wave and floating wind) in Nantes, France.

Find more information about BLUE-GIFT on:

1st call for applications

The 1st call, launched on 23 April 2019 offers support package vouchers to ocean energy companies for access to demonstration sites across the Atlantic Area, lowering costs for testing and validating technologies in real sea environments. The project aims to support a minimum of eight floating wind, wave or tidal demonstration related projects across the Atlantic Area region.

2nd call for applications

The Blue-GIFT (Blue Growth and Innovation Fast Tracked) project is pleased to announce the 2nd call for applications that will open on the 20th of January 2020. The call will close on the 30th of April 2020 at 17:00 UTC. Applications can benefit from an early assessment if the test plan requires a starting date on Q1 & Q2 2020.


As part of the European Union’s Cohesion Policy, Interreg Atlantic Area supports transnational cooperation projects in 36 Atlantic regions of five countries: France, Ireland, Portugal, Spain and the United Kingdom, contributing to the achievement of economic, social and territorial cohesion. For further information, visit:
Published on April 23, 2019 Updated on January 21, 2020